Posted by: Abdul | February 8, 2010

Online Interview Questionnaire

Dear All,

Following below are my answers to the recent online interview questionnaire. Appreciate your comments after review.

1. Briefly describe your ideal job ?

My ideal job would be as a Marketing Manager for an Automotive firm where I can make positive contribution to the growth of the firm while growing professionally with a decent pay.

2. Why did you choose this career?

Since college days I was fascinated by the excitement attached to the marketing field as it is challenging. This drove me to take up MBA with specialization in Marketing. I got my first break in an insurance company but very soon I got an opportunity at an automotive firm and now I got 12 years of experience up my sleeves. And I have always enjoyed my work.
3. What goals do you have in your career?

My immediate goal would be to attain leading role as a Marketing Director in an Automotive firm.

4. How do you plan to achieve these goals?

By proving myself as a better option for the position in the firm by the aid of my experiences and knowledge in the industry.

5. Can you work well under deadlines or pressure?

Working under deadlines or pressure shouldn’t be a problem as i have been in such situations before and performed well under critical conditions.  But I always have an organized approach to a task or a problem with a defined plan. I have already proven this on my current job.
6. Tell us about a time when you failed to meet a deadline. What were the repercussions ?

Well, it is not a task where I missed the deadline but was a launch event where I would have failed miserably. Not blaming my staff at this point, I personally took the initiation and few extra hours per day to make the task a success. I would like to thank the Management for their kind support and encouragement. I learned from that episode and moved forward.

7. Do you have reference list?

Mr. XXX XXXX

8. Why do you want to work here?

I believe ABC, as the name stands, to be a place to work for a potential candidate like me and I don’t see any reason not to be.

9. Why should we hire you over the others waiting to be interviewed?

Without commenting on others talent I would like to mention that I have the ability, knowledge, qualifications and experience to work in your organization that best fits the role.

 

10. What is your Current Monthly Salary Package in US Dollars?

4,000 USD.

11. How soon can you travel down to start your new Job?

Approximately one month.

12. What job position/s are you currently holding with your current employer?

Assistant Sales & Marketing Manager for XYZ Automobile Company. I actively participate in ordering cars and business planning.

 

13. What three Specific Job Positions do you target ABC MOTOR CO ?

Marketing Manager, Customer Relationship Manager, Market Research Analyst.

15. What is your Country of Nationality? Is it different from your Present Location?

India.

If yes, Please state your Current resident Country.

Saudi Arabia.

16. What are your Future Plans for ABC MOTOR CO, U.K?

I would like to contribute my best to the growth of ABC Motor Company.

* The names of the companies are changed to maintain confidentiality.

 

Following below are few tips to prepare for a face-to-face interview.

Tip 1 : Know the Location

Its good if you already know the place of the interview. Be there atleast 15 minutes before the schedule. Survey the workplace, meet the receptionist and make yourself comfortable in a new atmosphere. If you don’t know the place then its better to start much early to get there on time. It would prefer visiting the place a day before, learn the route and before atleast 15 minutes before to make yourself comfortable.

Tip 2:  Know the Company and the Product.

Do a little research work. Know about the company and the position you are offered. Browse the company’s website. If possible find out about the people you will meet with at the interview.

Again you need to do some research work. If this new job is in the same industry then it would be easy for you else learn about the product. Browse the web for it. Imagine yourself

Tip 3: Play-acting:

Once you have finished studying, imagine yourself hired to the position you are going for the interview. Write down your role play and how you would contribute to the success of the company. This is help you answer the questions with confidence.

Tip 3: Eye Contact

Maintain eye contact with your interviewers at all time. Show that you want the job with your interest.

 
Tip 4: Be Positive

Keep your attitude positive. You will be asked questions like “why do you think you are the best for this position when compared with others’, ‘what made you leave your old job’, avoid negative comments about others or past employers.

Tip 4: Presentation

Give some time to groom yourself for the interview. You got to look good and your presence should be felt. Professionals, please wear suit with white shirt & tie. If possible try wearing Navy Blue coloured suit as blue signals positive. Smell good but don’t wear strong perfumes. Look stylish businesslike. As the saying goes “first impression is the best impression”, give your best to the first meeting.

 
Tip 5: Concentrate

Listen to the questions carefully and answer precise to the questions. Don’t make the story long. If you missed something or did not understand the question then request them again. If you do not know the answer to any of the questions please admit it as nobody can be 100% knowledgeable but do not answer vaguely by pretending to know.

Before you enter the room, relax yourself, breath properly. At stress people tend to take shot breaths. So breath deep from your abdomen.

That’s it for the moment . Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Categories

